Academic Activities

Legal Workshops

Let’s go into practice

LLegal workshops are a significant part of ELSA. Participants get the opportunity to actively participate in discussions and lectures on a specific topic or area of law, which are held by our partner law firms.

The workshop is followed by a get-together where students have the opportunity to exchange contacts with lawyers and partners.

i

Legal Lectures

Expand your legal knowledge and soft skills
By academic lectures and practice days, ELSA Austria gives students of law and business law the opportunity to learn about various legal topics in depth and to have their questions answered by professionals from the field. Legal lectures are held on highly topical subjects such as cyber law.

 

U

Legal Insights

Get to know your future employer at lunch

At the Legal Insights, students have the opportunity to get a first insight into everyday legal life, especially at Breakfast@Law events. A Breakfast@Law gives students an insight into the law firm hosting such an event in a cozy atmosphere during breakfast and to network with the partners of the law firm as well as with each other.

ELSA Law Review

A law review is a legal journal on a certain legal topic, usually organized by students for students. With the ELSA Austria Law Review, ELSA Austria’s main objective is to promote the “legal-writing-skills” of students and to give them the opportunity to participate in Austria’s academic and legal-political discourse at an early age. Furthermore, it is a considerable advantage to be able to include in one’s CV a publication in a law journal at the beginning of one’s career or even before that, which is then published by the Federal Ministry of Justice, is available in all university libraries and is sent to all partner law firms.

The origin of this format lies in the Anglo-American area. Most universities in America have their own law review. The oldest was found at the University of Pennsylvania, which was published in 1852. National groups like ELSA Poland, ELSA Slovakia, ELSA Malta, etc. continue with this project. The tradition of the ELSA Austria Law Review (EALR) is not so long – the idea to launch one in Austria was born in 2014. The first edition of the EALR was dedicated to the topic “Internationality and Law” and was presented for the first time at the Federal Ministry of Justice on 27 October 2016. Since then, the EALR has dealt with issues such as antitrust and competition law, the ErbRÄG and reforms, which will soon be presented at the Federal Ministry of Justice.

Procedure of the ELSA Law Review

Phase I: Preparation & Submission of Papers

In preparation, the VP AA of ELSA Austria plans the entire course of the project. This involves defining the topic, formulating and sending out the calls, both for positions on the Editorial Board and for contributions, recruiting professors who teach the relevant area of law or other specialists for the EALR, contacting Verlag Österreich as a publishing partner and the BMJ as a cooperation partner, setting provisional deadlines, revising existing files such as citation rules, etc. , together with the Editorial Board.

Phase II: Review

In this phase, the Editorial Board checks the contributions against the internally defined and formal requirements for the Law Review (compliance with formal requirements, plagiarism check,. . . ). Subsequently, the content of the academic paper is examined by experts in the relevant field (the professors or other specialists mentioned above). All changes, both in form and content, are marked with mark-ups and returned to the authors for correction. The Editorial Board therefore does not make any changes to the text independently.

Phase III: Processing and printing phase

This will include the best of the final finished articles, as well as forewords, editorials, general information, cover, etc. processed into a coherent file, which is then sent to Verlag Österreich for printing.

Phase IV: Publication

Finally, the work should also be worthwhile and the EALR should be publicised. The respective VP AA can then decide whether he/she plans to have a publication ceremony or just send it out to university libraries, partners, etc. to give the EALR a wider reach. The EALR has been in operation since its 2. Edition also regularly included in the e-library of Verlag Österreich. Under the following link all articles of the last EALR editions are available: https://elibrary.verlagoesterreich.at/search?query=&search-what=&search-within=&facet%5Bpath_journals%5D=EALR%20-%20ELSA%20Austria%20Law%20Review%401

ELSA Legal Research Group

The Legal Research Group (LRG) is a project of ELSA International, whereby national groups can participate as research groups. A list of questions is drawn up on a specific topic which needs to be worked out. The working language of this project is English and the aim is to establish an international comparison of laws. Finally, it is the aim of each national research group to submit a “Final Report” with the questions elaborated under national law to ELSA International in time for a legal comparison to be drawn up. More information to LRG (positions, procedure, questionnaire, etc) can be found at https://legalresearch. elsa. org.

For the participation in a national group in the LRG, there is a “selee board”, i. e. different positions apart from the National Board, which must be filled so that a national research group can actually participate in the LRG. This “own board” consists of:

National Cooridinator

The National Cooridinator is responsible for the contact between the national research group and ELSA International. The National Coordinator is usually the VP AA of the respective National Board. However, if such a person is not elected or if another person wants to take over this role, it is also possible for someone else to take over this position.

National Academic Coordinator

The National Academic Coordinator is responsible for internal communication among the National Researchers. His task is to set up internal deadlines and to support the researchers with advice and assistance on content-related questions.

National Researcher

The National Researchers are the people who come up with the above mentioned list of questions. The questionnaire is prepared by ELSA International and can be accessed in advance for all national research groups on the homepage of the LRG.

National Linguistic Editors

The task of the National Linguistic Editors is to ensure the quality of Legal English, because it is an international research project and the working language is English. Thus the National Linguistic Editors are responsible for the linguistic review of the searches.

National Academic Supervisors

The National Academic Supervisor is responsible for researcher content issues. National Academic Supervisors should be individuals with sound and professional knowledge in the particular area where the LRG is concerned with and also be able to provide academic feedback to the researchers on their work.

Academic Activities

Legal Workshops

Auf in die Praxis

Legal Workshops sind ein bedeutender Teil von ELSA. Die TeilnehmerInnen erhalten die Gelegenheit zu einem bestimmten Thema oder Rechtsgebiet aktiv an Diskussionen und Vorträgen mitzumachen, welche von unseren Partner Kanzleien gehalten werden.

Im Anschluss an den Workshop findet ein gemütliches Get Together statt, indem die Studenten die Möglichkeit haben Kontakte mit Anwälten und Partnern auszutauschen.

i

Legal Lectures

Erweitere dein juristisches Wissen und Soft Skills
Durch akademische Vorträge und Praxistage gibt ELSA Austria Studierenden der Rechtswissenschaften und des Wirtschaftsrechts die Chance, verschiedene juristische Themenbereiche vertiefend kennenzulernen und die dabei auftretenden Fragen von Profis aus der Praxis beantwortet zu bekommen. Legal Vorträge werden unter anderem zu hochaktuellen Themen gehalten wie beispielsweise Cyber Law abgehalten.

 

U

Legal Insights

Lerne deinen zukünftigen Arbeitgeber beim Essen kennen

Bei den Legal Insights haben StudentInnen die Möglichkeit einen ersten Einblick in den juristischen Alltag zu bekommen wie bei Breakfast@Law Veranstaltungen.Ein Breakfast@Law dient dazu, dass Studierende in gemütlicher Atmosphäre bei einem Frühstück einen Einblick in die jeweilige Kanzlei, die ein solches Event veranstaltet, bekommen und sich mit den Partnern der Kanzlei sowie untereinander vernetzen.

ELSA Law Review

Eine Law Review ist eine juristische Fachzeitschrift zu einem gewissen rechtlichen Themengebiet, welche für gewöhnlich von Studenten für Studenten organisiert wird. ELSA Austria hat es sich mit der ELSA Austria Law Review dabei vor allem zum Ziel gesetzt die „legal-writing-skills“ der Studierenden zu fördern und ihnen die Möglichkeit zu geben sich bereits in jungen Jahren am akademischen und rechtspolitischen Diskurs Österreichs zu beteiligen. Weiters stellt es einen nicht unbeachtlichen Vorteil dar, wenn man bereits am Beginn der Karriere oder auch schon davor eine eigene Publikation in einem Law Journal, das dann sowohl im Bundesministerium für Justiz aufliegt, als auch in allen Universitätsbibliotheken verfügbar ist und an alle Partnerkanzleien übermittelt wird, in seinen Lebenslauf aufnehmen kann.

Der Ursprung dieses Formats liegt im angloamerikanischen Raum. Die meisten Universitäten in Amerika haben ihre eigene Law Review. Die älteste wurde an der University of Pennsylvania gefunden, welche bereits im Jahr 1852 publiziert wurde. Auch bei ELSA erfreut sich dieses Projekt bei Nationalgruppen wie ELSA Polen, ELSA Slowakei, ELSA Malta, etc an Beständigkeit.  Die Tradition der ELSA Austria Law Review (EALR) ist eine nicht ganz so lange – die Idee dazu eine solche auch in Österreich ins Leben zu rufen wurde im Jahr 2014 geboren. Die erste Edition der EALR widmete sich dem Thema „Internationalität und Recht“ und wurde am 27.10.2016 im Bundesministerium für Justiz erstmals präsentiert. Seither befasste sich die EALR mit Themen wie Kartell- und Wettbewerbsrecht, der ErbRÄG und Reformen, welche demnächst im Bundesministerium für Justiz vorgestellt wird. 

Ablauf der ELSA Law Review

Phase I: Vorbereitung & Einreichung der Beiträge

In der Vorbereitung plant der VP AA von ELSA Austria den ganzen Verlauf des Projekts. Es geht hierbei darum das Thema festzulegen, die Calls, sowohl für die Positionen im Editorial Board, als auch für die Beiträge, zu formulieren und auszusenden, Professoren, die das einschlägige Rechtsgebiet lehren oder andere Spezialisten für die EALR zu gewinnen, den Verlag Österreich als Publishing Partner und das BMJ als Kooperationspartner zu kontaktieren, vorläufige Deadlines festzulegen, gemeinsam mit dem Editorial Board bereits vorhandene Dateien wie zB Zitierregeln zu überarbeiten, etc.

Phase II: Review

In dieser Phase prüft das Editorial Board, die Beiträge anhand der intern festgelegten und formellen Voraussetzungen für die Law Review (Einhaltung der Formvorschriften, Plagiatsüberprüfung,… ). Anschließend wird der Inhalt des akademischen Beitrags von Expertinnen und Experten des jeweiligen Fachgebietes untersucht (die oben erwähnten Professoren oder anderen Spezialisten). Sämtliche Änderungen, sowohl Form, als auch Inhalt betreffend, werden dabei mittels Mark-Ups gekennzeichnet und an die AutorInnen zur Korrektur zurückgesendet. Das Editorial Board nimmt also selbständig keine Änderungen im Text vor.

Phase III: Verarbeitungs- und Druckphase

Dabei werden dann die besten der endgültig fertigen Beiträge, sowie Vorworte, Leitartikel, allgemeine Informationen, das Cover, etc. zu einer zusammenhängenden Datei verarbeitet, welche dann im Anschluss zum Druck an den Verlag Österreich übermittelt wird.

Phase IV: Veröffentlichung

Schlussendlich soll sich die Arbeit auch lohnen und die EALR publik gemacht werden. Der jeweilige VP AA kann dann entscheiden, ob er/sie eine Publikationsfeier plant oder lediglich die Versendung an die Universitätsbibliotheken, Partner, etc. um der EALR eine größere Reichweite zu verschaffen. Die EALR wird seit ihrer 2. Edition auch regelmäßig in die E-Library des Verlag Österreichs aufgenommen. Unter folgendem Link sind alle Artikel der letzten EALR Editionen abrufbar: https://elibrary.verlagoesterreich.at/search?query=&search-what=&search-within=&facet%5Bpath_journals%5D=EALR%20-%20ELSA%20Austria%20Law%20Review%401

ELSA Legal Research Group

Die Legal Research Group (LRG) ist ein Projekt von ELSA International, wobei Nationalgruppen als Forschungsgruppen daran teilnehmen können. Es wird ein Fragenkatalog zu einem gewissen Themenbereich gestellt, den es auszuarbeiten gilt. Die Arbeitssprache bei diesem Projekt ist Englisch und das Ziel ist es einen internationalen Rechtsvergleich aufzustellen. Schlussendlich ist es das Ziel einer jeden nationalen Forschungsgruppe rechtzeitig einen „Final Report“ mit den nach nationalen Recht ausgearbeiteten Fragen an ELSA International zu übermitteln, damit ein Rechtsvergleich aufgestellt werden kann. Nähere Informationen zur LRG (Positionen, Ablauf, Fragenkatalog, etc) sind unter https://legalresearch.elsa.org zu finden.

Für die Teilnahme einer Nationalgruppe an der LRG gibt es einen „eigenen Vorstand“, also verschiedene Positionen abseits vom National Board, die besetzt werden müssen, damit eine nationale Forschungsgruppe an der LRG auch wirklich teilnehmen kann. Dieser „eigene Vorstand“ besteht aus:

National Cooridinator

Der National Cooridinator ist zuständig für den Kontakt zwischen der nationalen Forschungsgruppe und ELSA International. Der National Coordinator ist üblicherweise der VP AA des jeweiligen National Boards. Falls allerdings ein solcher nicht gewählt wurde oder eine andere Person diese Rolle übernehmen möchte, stellt es auch kein Problem dar, dass jemand anderer diese Position übernimmt.

National Academic Coordinator

Der National Academic Coordinator ist zuständig für die interne Kommunikation unter den National Researchern. Seine Aufgabe ist es interne Deadlines aufzustellen und den Researchern bei inhaltlichen Fragen mit Rat und Tat zur Seite zu stehen.

National Researcher

Der National Researchers ist wie der Name bereits sagt, sind die Researcher die Personen, die den oben erwähnten Fragenkatalog ausarbeiten. Der Fragenkatalog wird von ELSA International vorbereitet, ist für alle nationalen Forschungsgruppen gleich und vorab schon auf der Homepage zur LRG abrufbar.

National Linguistic Editors

Der National Linguistic Editors ist, da es sich um ein internationales Forschungsprojekt handelt und die Arbeitssprache Englisch ist, ist es wichtig auch die Qualität des Legal English zu gewährleisten. Die National Linguistic Editors sind also für die sprachliche Überprüfung der Recherchen zuständig.

National Academic Supervisors

Der National Academic Supervisors ist bei inhaltlichen Fragen der Researcher zuständig. National Academic Supervisors sollten Personen mit fundiertem und professionellem Wissen im jeweiligen Bereich, mit dem sich die LRG beschäftigt, sein und auch in der Lage sein den Researchern akademisches Feedback zu ihrer Arbeit zu geben.